All That Glitters Isn’t Gold…

Sometimes it’s purple or silver 😉

Such is the case with these 2 awesome polishes that I picked up from the Milani Rockstar Heavy Glitter collection.
The collection consists of 7 polishes– 5 of which claim to be “one coat” glitters. I was seriously skeptical about this as most glitter polishes take about 4 or 5 coats to be opaque since they’re basically made for layering, but boy was I wrong!

You could possibly get away with one thick coat  of these and only have minimal VNL, but layer on 2 coats and you’ve got yourself some gorgeous, seriously glittery nails! ( I did my usual 2 coats with a Seche Vite top coat)
I’m usually hesitant about glitter nail polish cuz it can make me feel like I’m 10 years old, but these glitters are all grown up. Plus, December is a sparkly month, so if you’re one to shy away from glitters, use the holidays as an excuse to bling it up 🙂

As I said, I only picked up two of the colors from the collection. I told myself it’s because only two of them spoke to me, but the truth is that this polish fiend is on a budget 😦

First up is Silver Dazzle. I love, love, love this color! It’s a glittery charcoal grey that is just absolutely gorgeous. Without a top coat it dries with a weird matte affect that actually looks pretty cool. But nothing makes a glitter shine more than a good top coat. Put some Seche Vite on top of this baby and you’ve got dazzle! I love it! I couldn’t stop staring at my hands all day when I wore this to work. Did I mention that I love this color?! 🙂

 

 

The second of the colors is Purple Gleam. I had a little bit of an application problem with this one cuz it was kind of gloopy and thick, but maybe I got a bad bottle. Other than that, it’s a really pretty color. It strikes me as being a little similar to China Glaze’s Mummy May I? But I could be wrong. I’ll have to do some comparison swatches in the near future to see about that.

 

So there you have it- two of the dazzling glitters from Milani’s nw collection.

What do you think of them? Are you a fan of glitters?

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “All That Glitters Isn’t Gold…

  1. Ah! I love these two colors. Once again I agree with you…some glitters look so child-like, but these 2 look amazing!

  2. Pingback: More From the Drugstore « Colour Coated

Leave a Reply

