New Year, New Nails

Happy New Year Everyone!

So the past few weeks I’ve been a very bad blogger cuz I got so busy with work and holiday stuff. The end of the year just kind of went by in a flash and I can’t believe it’s already 2011!

Anyway, one of my New Year’s Resolutions is to get this blog properly started and to give it more of my attention on a consistent basis. To start off on the right foot (or hand 🙂 ) my first blog of the new year is my New Year’s Eve mani.

I really didn’t do anything exciting on NYE, but I made my nails festive anyway 🙂 I used one of the colors from Milani’s 3D Holographic Collection called HD. I heard that when this collection first came out last year that it was pretty tough to find for some people. I guess I lucked out cuz there were a ton of them at my local CVS, so I didn’t have to do any major hunting for them.

Anyhow, HD is your basic silver holo. I love holographic nail polish cuz I think the concept and effect are just so cool. This one isn’t necessarily one of my favorite holos because I don’t think it flatters my skin tone all that much, but  I felt it was fitting for NYE.

The application was pretty smooth and trouble-free, except the holos are kind of on the sheer side so I used 4 (yes 4!) coats to get the full holo effect. Usually I’m against any polish that requires more than 2 coats, but I think this was worth it. Plus all 4 coats went on so easily, it didn’t really phase me.

 

 

So there you have it-my holographic New Year’s mani. I hope everyone had a wonderful New Year’s  and is looking forward to the year ahead! 🙂

Leave a Reply

