Blue Haul – Part I

Happy Monday Everyone!

I can’t believe the holidays are over and it’s the first official work day of the new year! What happened to December???

Anyway, after doing my Colts mani on Friday, I realized that the number of blues in my collection was severely lacking. So I decided to go to a couple of stores and do a haul of some different blue nail polishes. Turns out I had excellent timing because a lot of places were having after Christmas clearance sales.  (As I type this I just realized that I left out a couple of the bottles I picked up when I did my swatches. Oops! )

Anyhow, today I have some swatches of two of the bottles I snagged. They’re actually pretty similar colors, but each beautifully blue in their own way 🙂

Fist off we have Frostbite by China Glaze. While this isn’t a new color, it is new to me and I absolutely love it! I’d seen this in the stores many times and passed on it, but in my blue craze finally decided to give it a try. I’m super glad I did.

It’s so gorgeous and looks really good with my skin tone! It’s dark and bright at the same time…I gues it’s kind of a shiny royal blue. The application was really good, as per usual with China Glaze. It was also really opaque to the point that I could’ve gotten away with one thick coat (though I did 2).

 

Next we have Pier 17by NYC. It’s from their quick-dry In A New York Color Minute collection.

Let me just say, I did not have high expectations for this color at all because I was so extremely disappointed by another polish from this collection called East Village-which I reviewed a couple of weeks ago…but it just goes to show that you can’t judge a collection by one bad color. This baby is super great! It went on so smooth and was also opaque in 1 coat.

 

 

 

As you can see, Frostbite and Pier 17 are very similar colors- to the point that they’re almost dupes. Pier 17 is just a couple of shades darker. Also, it was only $0.97, whereas Frostbite was $4.50. So if you’re on a budget, I’d go for the NYC in lieu of the CG. Your nails will love you and your wallet will thank you 🙂

That’ it for today folks! Stay tuned for part deux of my Blue Haul tomorrow! I’ve got another NYC, a China Glaze and a Nicole by O.P.I. 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

