Teal Twins?

Hey there!

Yay for it being Thursday already! I’m off tomorrow, so today is my Friday and I’m super excited about that.
Anyway, today I’ve got a quick comparison post for you.

I have Ski Teal We Drop from O.P.I.’s Swiss Collection and Taunting Teal by Sonia Kashuk.
I bought both of these at completely different times so I didn’t even think about them being possible dupes until I was organizing my polish stash a couple of days ago.

In the bottle you can see that Taunting Teal looks a bit darker than Ski Teal We Drop, but let’s see if that translates onto the nail….First is Ski Teal We Drop. It’s a beautiful, glossy teal creme. I love this color cuz it’s super flattering on me and the formula was stellar (the usual for O.P.I.). I snagged a few colors from the Swiss Collection, but I think this is my favorite one. I’m so glad I bought it.

 

Next, we have Taunting Teal by Sonia Kashuk. I’d never tried any Sonia Kashuk polishes or products before I bought this so I didn’t know what to expect. I stumbled upon it while shopping at Target one day and decided to give it a try. It’s actually pretty great. Again, a gorgeous and flattering color with a formula that is smooth and easy to handle. Plus I kinda like the shape of the bottle and the pretty silver top 🙂

FYI, the first pic shows it a little darker than it actually is. The second pic is more of its true color.

  In the pic below I have Taunting Teal on all of my fingers except my middle one, on which I have Ski Teal We Drop.

The Verdict: As you can tell, Taunting Teal is definitely a bit darker than Ski Teal We Drop. But do you need to own them both? Probably not. Well, not unless you’re obsessed like I am 🙂

They both have great formulas and go on opaque with one coat so you’ll win with either one. However, as much as I love O.P.I. and hold their polish very near to my heart, I’d pick the Sonia Kashuk if I had to choose between the two. 

Honestly, it’s only because of the brushes. The O.P.I. pro-wide brush gets on my nerves sometimes cuz it’s so big and thick. If you have small nail beds or if you’re not careful, polish can get everywhere with it. The Sonia Kashuk brush was kind of perfect. Not too big and not too small.

Sonia Kashuk’s polish retails for about $5 a bottle and O.P.I. is about $8.50 a bottle (though you can get it at some etailers for less).

That’s all for today.  So what do you think folks? Do you own either of these? Love ’em or leave ’em?

 

Leave a Reply

