Spirit Fingers: A Super Bowl Mani

Are you ready for some football?!?!

 

That’s right, it’s Super Bowl Sunday! The one day where people who never watch a single football game all year will tune in to see the top 2 teams of the season duke it out for the big win! 🙂

I am a huge football fan. And while my team (The Colts) didn’t make it to the big game this year, I was still compelled do a super bowl mani in support of the teams that did.

This year it’s the Green Bay Packers and the Pittsburgh Steelers

 

Photos Courtesy of faniq.com

 

I don’t really care for the Steelers because I don’t like their quarterback Ben Roethlisberger (or as my dad calls him “Ben Rotten Burger” 🙂 ), but to be fair I did a quick mani using their team colors anyway. Their colors are black and yellow so I used OPI Black Shatter layered over China Glaze Solar Power.

Let me just say, boo to both teams having yellow as one of their colors because yellow nail polish is notoriously difficult to work with.

While Solar Power is a pretty yellow shimmer, it was all streaky and runny so I had to use 4 good coats for full opacity. Besides that, my Steelers mani was pretty easy because Black Shatter did all the work 🙂 Check it out:

 

 

.

 

 

Now for my Packers mani… This is the one I will be wearing during the game because I am rooting for the Packers this year. Their colors are green and yellow, so I used China Glaze Watermelon Rind in addition to Solar Power.

 Watermelon Rind is so beautiful and sparkly and lovely. It went on opaque in 2 coats, and I just really love it. I was tempted to do the whole mani using it, and just have SP on an accent finger, but then I decided to be a little more creative instead.

I used one of the dotting tools that my mom bought me for Christmas for the design. The dots look a little wonky on my pinky finger because I could not get my right hand to cooperate!

Here’s a weird little fact: Even though I swatch my left hand for pics, I’m actually left-handed! Most people do the opposite because you tend to polish the best with your dominant hand. And while I have gotten polishing down pact with my non-dominant right hand, nail art is a whole other thing! 🙂 Anyhow, check out the pics…

 

.

 

 

I must admit, while I don’t like the Steelers, I think I like my Steelers mani the best. What do you guys think? Which team will you be rooting for today? 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “Spirit Fingers: A Super Bowl Mani

  1. I don’t like Steelers also but I LOVE THAT COMBO! Had I seen this before The Super Bowl started, I would have totally rocked it (although I don’t really care for either teans, haha).

Leave a Reply

