A Fancy Schmancy Mani

Well hello there!

I hope everyone has enjoyed their weekend so far 🙂

Today I have a pretty little mani that was inspired by a comment that Sonja from Peace Love Polish  left on my last post. She said it was “so fancy schmancy”, which reminded me that I actually have a nail polish named that! 🙂

It’s Sephora by OPI Fancy Schmancy.

Fancy Schmancy is a sheer, ice-blue that is packed with tons of shimmer. I think it actually came out a couple of years ago, but I just snagged a bottle of it from the clearance bin at Sephora a couple of months ago. It looked all pretty and shimmery and was only $1.75, so I couldn’t pass it up!

On its own, it’s one of those colors that takes many coats to be completely opaque. In the pics below I used 4 coats and I still have  slight VNL.

.

.

.

.

Since FS is a bit too sheer for my liking, I decided to use it as a layering polish instead 🙂  I paired it up with China Glaze Sea Spray. They’re very similar in color and I think they compliment each other very well. Sea Spray already has a slight shimmer on its own, but adding Fancy Schmancy to it kicks it up a few notches and makes it look all sophisticated glam 🙂 Check it out:

.

.

 

It makes me think of Cinderella’s ball gown. I totally love it 🙂

 

So what do you guys think of this combo? Would you wear Fancy Schmancy on its own?

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

 

8 responses to “A Fancy Schmancy Mani

  1. Aw yeah, it’s nice over Sea Spray! Cinderella – perfect comparison =]

    • I second that! Cinderella would definitely rock this. Which sort of indirectly reminds me of “WWPD?” . . . I met this girl at a party once who, whenever she faces a dilemma, asks herself, “If Pocahontas was in this situation, what would she do?” Has anyone else ever heard of this before? It might be the funniest thing I ever heard, but I also adopted this as my compass, and it works pretty well. And I’m glad I inspired you, Jasmine! 🙂 You’re sweet!

      • WWPD?!? That’s so funny! I’ve never heard of that…when I first saw that I was thinking “what would a princess do?” haha! My mind was stuck on Cinderella.

    • Thanks! I’m happy with how it came out 🙂

  2. It is a perfect combo! Cinderella or the Snow Queen from Narnia.

  3. I love it! 😀

Leave a Reply

