Finger Paints Palette of Petals

Hey Peeps!

Yesterday was officially the first day of Spring! Yay for no more Winter! It snowed last Monday, but yesterday it was a glorious 78 degrees outside! Ahh, warm weather!

Anyhow, being that Spring has officially sprung, today I have Finger Paints Spring 2011 Collection: Palette of Petals.

I picked up this collection at Sally Beauty Supply a little over a month ago, but I was holding off on swatching them until I was in more of a Spring mood. All of the colors are what you would generally expect from a Spring collection, but what I think is super cool is that each bottle comes with an awesomely large flower ring. I am all about big rings, so that was a total selling point for me 🙂

The one thing I’m not too keen on is the names of the colors. Don’t get me wrong, they’re very creative, but I will never remember which name goes to which color because they just don’t make sense, and that bothers me.

Anyhow, let’s get on to the swatches…

First up is Dahlia My Number. This is a muted orange with gold shimmer. I’m not a fan of this color on myself, but it’s still pretty. In the pics below I used 3 coats:

.

.

.

.

Next is Did You Ast-Her Out? This one is a pink creme. I really don’t have much to say about it besides that. It’s not unique or anything, but I think this type of pink is really starting to grow on me.

.

.

.

.

Here’s Heavenly Hydrangeas. This one’s a rose color that leans a bit on the purple side. Another color that I think is really pretty, yet I’m not a fan of it on myself.

.

.

.

.

Next is Aren’t You Glad-iolous? Now this is my kind of color. It’s a beautiful lavender creme that I fell in love with after the first brushstroke. When I saw it in the bottle I didn’t get too excited because colors like this are usually thin and streaky and take a few coats to build up, but Finger Paints must’ve sprinkled some pixie dust in this one cuz the formula is outstanding! It was totally opaque in one coat! One coat! I’m still shocked. I don’t think I own any other pastel that goes on opaque in one coat. Love.

.

.

.

.

Here’s another color that was a pleasant surprise: Chrysanthe-Mum’s The Word. It’s a beautiful, creamy lime green that also was a one-coat-wonder! I love greens like this! My only complaint is it was a tad bit gloopy, but that can be fixed with a little touch of thinner. Otherwise, this one is pure awesomeness.

.

.

.

.

And last, but definitely not least is Carnation Creation. All of the names in this collection bug me a little bit, but this one is the worst. The polish is a beautiful blueish-teal, but when I hear the word carnation I think of pale pink or white. Whatev. This color rocks. I love colors like this so much. Beware of its staining powers though. You’ll definitely wanna load up on the base coat with this baby.

.

.

.

.

And here are a couple of pics of one of the rings. There’s a ring that matches each color. The one in the pics is the one that goes with Carnation Creation. My nails are painted with Aren’t You Glad-iolous cuz I was planning on taking the pic w/the ring that matched it, but then it broke 😦

.

.

.

 

So what do you think of this collection? Any must-haves or favorites? Do the names bother you as much as they do me?

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

6 responses to “Finger Paints Palette of Petals

  1. I’m definitely on board with the last three. Aren’t You Glad-iolous? looks especially great on you. I don’t know if I can quite believe that it goes on that perfectly with one coat. 😉 That’s crazy!

  2. The names really don’t make sense – Annoying! I skipped these, but a one-coat lavender? I’m rethinking my decision 😛

  3. This is a fun and bright collection right?! I loved it!

Leave a Reply

