Orly Precious

Hey There Lovelies 🙂
.
So I know I’m totally late to the party, but today I have swatches of Orly’s Precious Collection for Spring.
.
I got behind on swatching between work and being sick and whatever else, so I forgot to post these.
I think these were officially out in stores in March, but I saw them at my Sally’s towards the end of February.
.
Anyway, let’s get to the pics. I don’t have too many Orly polishes, so I didn’t really know what to expect from these, but I was pretty satisfied. All of them covered pretty evenly with only 2 coats. Check ’em out:
.
First up is my absolute favorite of the whole collection: Royal Velvet.
This color is just gorgeous in so many ways. A lot of people have been gushing about this color, and it’s definitely with good reason. It’s a deep purple/blue duochrome packed with shimmer. Lovelovelove it!
.
.
.
.
Next is Sapphire Silk.
This is a pretty teal creme. It’s not really unique, but it’s still a beautiful color. I don’t get the name though, because I don’t see sapphire when I look at it.
.
.
.
.
And here’s Ancient Jade.
I love this shade of green to death. I could own a hundred polishes this color and I wouldn’t love it any less. I used 2 coats on this one, but if I’d been more careful I probably could’ve gotten away with one. It went on like buttah.
.
.
.
.
Then there’s Fancy Fuchsia.
Boy is this baby bright! It’s a really pretty shade of pink that I think would be awesome for a pedicure. It dried kinda semi-matte, which I thought was weird. But it may be because it’s so close to being neon, and neons tend to dry matte. Either way, I love it. This one also couldv’e been a one-coat-wonder, but I did 2 to be consistent.
.
.
.
.
Here we have Pure Porcelain.
This is one that I wouldn’t have bought because colors like this seem a bit boring to me, and I feel like the formula on them always sucks. Like, why is it so hard to make a good formula on a white or cream polish?
However, I was really surprised because I ended up loving how it looked on my nails. I think it contrasts well with my skin tone. Plus, the formula didn’t suck. It was kinda thick, but it wasn’t streaky. Kudos to Orly for that.
.
.
.
.
Last up is Gilded Coral.
This was my least favorite of the collection. Don’t get me wrong, it is a really gorgeous color. It’s all shimmery, peachey-gold goodness, and it applied wonderfully…but I just don’t think it looks good on me 😦 It doesn’t play well with my skin tone.
.
.
.
.
.
.
So there you have it. Overall I think the collection is pretty good, but I don’t think it’s that cohesive. The colors are kind of all over the place. However, that can totally be forgiven because of the fact that a color as amazing as Royal Velvet came out of it 🙂
What do you guys think of this? Do you have any favorites?
.
.
P.S. If you haven’t entered my Easter Giveway, hop on over and get to it! I’m giving away a set of Kleancolor Holos and China Glaze Crcakles !:)
.
.
.
.
..
.
.
.
The products  in this post were sent to me for review. For more information please see my disclosure policy.
.
.
.
13 responses to “Orly Precious

  1. You have a point about Sapphire Silk’s name, haha… Royal Velvet is pretty interesting.

  2. This is such a lovely collection. I need to pick up a few more 🙂

  3. Love the green polish!! I have been wanting to try one but was scared that it wouldn’t look good on my skin tone. Thanks for sharing!! I think I will give it a try the next time I see it in stores or at a beauty trade show:-)

  4. Royal Velvet is def. my fave. Looks lovely on you!

  5. You make them all look goorgeeeeous! I particularly like Royal Purple.

  6. I like this collection a lot. The only color I feel I NEED is Royal Velvet, but you Ancient Jade may make it to the counter at Sally’s if there’s a sale going on.

  7. Pingback: SpaRitual Evolve – Swatches & Review | peace love polish

Leave a Reply

