FingerPaints Crackle Effect

Hey There Peeps!

Can you believe it’s August already?!

Anyway, it seems that yet another company has jumped on the crackle wagon. Yep, FingerPaints has crackle now.

I was at Sally’s over the weekend and spotted a small display of 2 FingerPaints Crackle Effects in blue and purple. I was hesitant about getting them because they didn’t look like anything special, but Sally’s was having a buy 2 get 1 free sale so I decided to pick them up and see how they stacked up.

First up is Purple Crackle. It’s basically the exact same thing as China Glaze Fault Line. Nothing groundbreaking here. In the pic below I layered it over Wet ‘n WIld Black Creme.

.

.

And here’s Blue Crackle. This one is basically a dupe for OPI Blue Shatter. The main difference is it just doesn’t have the slight shimmer to it that Blue Shatter does. I layered it over Wet ‘n Wild French White Creme. For some reason it crackled all wonky on my pinky finger, otherwise I had no issues with it. Peep it:

.

.

.

So there you have it. I have to say that I’m extremely underwhelmed by these. I feel like for coming into the crackle game so late, FP could’ve done a better job and brought something new to the table. Blue and purple have been done, and done again. I think it would’ve been cool to see like a green, orange, or yellow crackle from them.

The only good thing about these is that they’re cheaper than China Glaze and OPI, so if you’d like to save a couple bucks but still get a nice blue or purple crackle, they’re worth it.

What do you think of these? Are you feeling as blah about them as I am?

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

6 responses to “FingerPaints Crackle Effect

  1. They look nice, however I think I’m over the crackle….. Don’t need anymore…..

  2. Got back from an extended weekend away for a friend’s wedding and was so happy to see four new Colour Coated posts in my Google Reader! Yay!

    And I’m over crackle too. Wasn’t that into it in the first place really. Any purple and black combo gets a thumbs up from me though.

    • Aww Sonja, I ❤ you so much! Hope you had fun at your friend's wedding.

      I love the combo of purple and black too. It's probably the only thing that kept me from regretting purchasing these, haha.

  3. Was the application any better than China Glaze? Crackle was a bit trickier than OPI Shatters for me. If this one’s better, I might get them after all.

    • It actually was a lot better than China Glaze. I totally agree that Crackles are a bit trickier than Shatter. The FingerPaints apply almost exactly like shatter though, so that is their saving grace.

Leave a Reply

