OPI Merry Midnight vs Orly Fowl Play (Plus A Giveaway!)

 Happy Saturday Peeps!

Sorry I’m getting this post up so late, but the day got away from me and then WordPress was being a pain in the butt and not letting me upload and edit my pics.

Anyway, today I have a comparison between two amazing beauties: OPI Merry Midnight and Orly Fowl Play.

First let me say that I can’t believe I FINALLY got my hands on Merry Midnight. It’s been one of my biggest lemmings for what seems like forever. When Orly came out with Fowl Play, I was happy to have it as a dupe for Merry Midnight, but I knew I wouldn’t be satisfied until I had the original in my possession.

So first here is Merry Midnight, which is an awesome, purple jelly base full of lovely glitter and amazing flakies. In the pic below I used 4 coats…more on that later:

.

.

Gorgeous right? Well now let’s look at Fowl Play, which is an awesome, purple jelly base full of lovely glitter and amazing flakies…wait, didn’t I say that already? 😉 In the pic below I used 2 coats:

.

.

Mmm, more gorgeousness! Now let’s see these lovelies side-by-side shall we?:

.

MM is on my middle and pinky fingers and FP is on my index and ring.

.

So is it safe to call these two dupes? I’d say so. Fowl Play may be a tad bit darker, but the difference is almost imperceptible. The main thing that distinguishes the two is the formula and application. I hate to say it, but Fowl Play totally has Merry Midnight beat. It goes on smooth and is opaque in 2 coats. I love it.

Merry Midnight, on the other hand, is pretty thin and took 4 coats to build up. It was giving me a little trouble with cuticle drag too. I think it would work best layered, for maximum color payoff with minimal effort. But I still lovelovelove it.

*****

***Giveaway Is Closed***

And now on to the fun part… I was lucky enough to get my hands on not one, but two bottles of Merry Midnight, and a couple of extra bottles of Fowl Play, so I decided to pass the good “nail polish karma” (as Jana calls it) onto my lovely readers…

Here’s what’s up for grabs:

*1 grand prize winner will receive one brand new, unused bottle of OPI Merry Midnight and Orly Fowl Play.

*1 runner-up will receive a brand new, unused bottle of Orly Fowl Play.

The Rules:

1. You must be a subscriber/follower of my blog to enter. You can do so by using the nifty little subscribe button in the left-hand sidebar.

You can get up to 3 additional entries by doing any of the following:

1) Follow me on twitter

2) Tweet about this giveaway

3) Blog about this giveaway (sidebars count)

*The deadline to enter is Saturday, October 1st at 11:59 pm PST

*The giveaway is open to all countries

*I will randomly choose 2 winners after all entries have been validated, and those people will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner or winners will be chosen

To enter, complete the form below. Please only submit the form once.

Good Luck! 🙂

.

11 responses to “OPI Merry Midnight vs Orly Fowl Play (Plus A Giveaway!)

  1. Wow, what a generous giveaway! They do look like dupes, maybe Fowl Play just a tinge darker? Would be pretty hard to tell the difference. They’re both stunning!

  2. Pingback: ChitChat Nails » Blog Archive » Lots of Gold

  3. Squeee… good luck to all of you lovely Ladies who enter… but I’d be lying if I didn’t say I wish I could get my Canadian claws on one of these!!! soooooo pretty! Thank you Jasmine!!!!!!

  4. That is the closes nail dupe that I have ever seen. You can barely tell them apart. Either one; their beautiful! I love the dark colors with a tint, color, or glitter 😛 Aww youre such a sweetheart for the giveaway!

    • Thanks hon 🙂 This color is definitely one that I don’t mind having a dupe of. If Orly was trying to garner more sales by replicating Merry Midnight, they did an insanely awesome job!

  5. Uau!
    Maravilha de sorteio!
    Otimo giveaway!
    Desejo toda sorte para quem estiver participando!
    E para mim tambem!
    rsrsrs
    Bjs do Brasil

    Wonder draw!
    Fine giveaway!
    I wish luck to all who are participating!
    And for me too!
    rsrsrs
    Kisses from Brazil

  6. Pingback: NOTD w/Glitter Gal Marine Blue | Colour Coated

  7. lovely giveaway. Unbelievable how close the two colors are.

Leave a Reply

